Skip to main content

Beaumont Farmington Hills Medical Library: Library History

Botsford Hospital / Library & Internet Services -- Historical Notes


Botsford General Hospital Medical Library was established as a doctors' library in 1972 with its first full-time librarian.  In 1974, a part-time library technical assistant was added to the staff.  

In 1978 the first librarian left and a librarian with Medical Library Association certification was hired.  The library technical assistant position became full-time in 1979 and a second LTA was added in 1980.

Access to online MEDLINE was established via "dumb" terminal in 1979. 

In 1982, the Library was redesigned as the Hospital Library and Media Services.  The Librarian was promoted to department head as the director.  A full -time clerk-typist and an audiovisual technician were added to the staff.  The Library began serving the information needs of all Hospital physicians and employees.  The Library facility quadrupled in size when it moved to the Administration and
Education building.

In 1983, the clerk-typist position was upgraded to library technical assistant.  The audiovisual position was discontinued in April 1984.

In 1985, the first IBM PC  in the hospital was purchased by the Library.

In 1986, an audiovisual technical coordinator was added to the staff.  One LTA position was upgraded to assistant director.

In 1987, the Library obtained the first fax machine in the Hospital through a government grant.

Also in 1987, the NOTIS integrated library system was installed.  The Library joined the Detroit Area Library Network (DALNET) with twelve other libraries, hosted by Wayne State University.  This was the first multi-type library consortium to share a computer system in the country.  The first PC local area network in the Hospital was purchased to operate the NOTIS system.

In 1988, the assistant director position was changed to medical librarian.  The Library was the first outside of Wayne State University to become fully operational on all NOTIS modules.

In 1989, the Library purchased a PC workstation and three compact disk drives through donated funds.  A subscription to MEDLINE on compact disk was started.

In 1991, a part-time LTA was added to the staff.  Also the responsibility for room scheduling was incorporated into the Library and Media Services.

A consumer health collection was established in 1992.  In 1993 the part-time LTA position was upgraded to full-time.

In 1995, four PCs were purchased by the physician staff for use by residents and interns for educational purposes.  In 1996, four other PCs were purchased and placed in the library computer lab.  These PCs were used to teach managers about computers and software.  The managers continue to use the PCs for daily work and learning computers.

Also in 1996, one of the LTA positions was changed to a library computer technician.  A 128K ISDN telecommunications line, the
first direct line to the Internet in the corporation, was connected to the library local area network.  The first library website was launched.

In 1997, a portable PC video projection system was purchased which allowed presentations by PC projection rather than by slides.  A second system was purchased in 1998.

In late 1997, the Computer Technician position was replaced by a Systems Librarian.

In February 1998, a partial T1 (768 Kbps) telecommunications line replaced the 128K  ISDN line to the Library.  Full-text, electronic journals were added to the collection for the first time.  Later in the year, the partial T1 was  increased to a full T1 line and the library staff assisted the Computer Information Technology department in connecting it to a firewall and the corporate network.  The systems
librarian position was upgraded to  corporate webmaster with the title Internet Coordinator.  The department name changed to Library and Internet Services.

In 1999, the Internet Coordinator position was renamed WWW/Internet Developer to more fully describe the responsibilities.  The Audiovisual Coordinator position was renamed Library Technical Assistant due to the number of LTA duties assigned to that position.  The corporate website was designed and launched.  The intranet was also designed and launched.  The NOTIS library system was replaced by the Horizon library system.

In 2001, the audiovisual equipment in the Community Room was upgraded to include a PC, a new projection system, and a new audio system.

In 2002, the Library Director and WWW/Internet Developer developed and launched a corporate-wide forms and printed documents system on the intranet.

In 2003, the Internet Developer created a database on the intranet to log patient information disclosures as required by HIPAA. The Library, in conjunction with Medical Education, participated in an MSU/SCS grant for intern PDA use. The Internet Developer also created the hospital formulary and directories for the PDA. The Internet Developer created an online payment form for the Systems Business Office. He also created an OSHA quiz, put reading materials online and developed a database to track employees taking the quiz at the Hospital and CEMS. Four PCs were replaced in the Library computer lab using funds from the Zieger Memorial Fund.

In 2004, a new Meeting Room Manager system was installed and implemented by Library staff to replace the Scheduler Plus system. Library staff conducted training throughout the Continuum. The Internet Developer created a Palm pager directory and put up the Approved Abbreviations List on the intranet. He also created a CEMS employee login system on the Internet and created a Nursing Mandatory Marathon system on the intranet and Internet, including materials matched to the position of each employee, video, quiz and database for tracking. Four more PCs were replaced in the Library computer lab using Zieger Memorial funds. Article Linker was added to allow users to search any database and retrieve fulltext articles from any licensed source.

In 2005, the Internet Developer designed and developed the online physician directory for the external website. Extensive work was done on the intern PDA forms and reports and these were transferred to the MSU/SCS office for ongoing maintenance and support. Three PCs for the library staff and three public PCs were replaced, and a Mac was purchased for the Internet Developer. A second part-time Medical Librarian joined our staff to replace one Library Technical Specialist.

In 2006, The Web Developer designed and constructed new websites for the Botsford Commons Senior Community and the Botsford Clinics. The remaining public PCs were replaced. AV/computer equipment was installed in the Doctors Dining Room. MDConsult was added to our databases, including patient education handouts.

In 2007, we began using OneSearch, a federated search tool that allows our users to search more than one Library electronic resource at a time, including the online catalog. The Web Developer created a Policy Manual web application for the Botsford Health Care departments.

In 2008, Internet Services launched the newly designed botsford.org website in February. The Web Developer created a new Nursing Portal and added a Google search engine to the intranet that allows employees to search within documents
and pdfs on the site. Due to an increase in the use of electronic resources and fewer print journals, the movable shelving was removed from the Library and a new study area added.

In 2009, Internet Services launched a newly designed intranet for Botsford Health Care in December. We began a physician website service, offering websites to medical staff. One of the part-time medical librarian positions was eliminated. Hours were shortened to 7:30am – 4:00pm Mon-Fri.

In 2010, a new library office was constructed. The old work area was given to Medical Education for a Skills Lab. Three computers were placed on their own network for public use. Board websites were designed and built for the entire corporation. Library staff was trained on the Zynx system and have built physician order sets for the new Paragon EMR system for the hospital.

In 2011, medical record forms were developed and built in the FormFast system for use with the new Paragon EMR system. Nursing teaching guidelines housed on Forms Xpress were linked into the EMR system. The Community Room Crestron control system was upgraded and includes an iPad for use as a secondary access point.

In 2012, a contract was signed with TB&A to install new flat screen TVs in the patient rooms and establish a patient-initiated rental for cable TV service, at no cost to the Hospital and a portion of the charges is sent to the Hospital. Subscriptions to Krames On Demand (for EMR use) and Krames Web patient education products began. The Web Developer created mobile HTML pages for botsford.org and the Library site.

In 2013, the library staff was reduced by 1 FTE which resulted in the loss of the Library Technical Specialist position. Hours were shortened to 9:30am to 4:00pm. EOS was purchased as our new library system to replace Horizon. DALNET membership was discontinued. ClinicalKey replaced MDConsult. The Web Developer created a mobile version of the pager app and updated the physician directory to work with the new Midas database. MIMA physician office site was redesigned.

In 2014, Botsford, Oakwood and Beaumont officially formed Beaumont Health. Our Library and Internet Services staff began working on the Library Team and the Web Marketing/IT Team. The beaumonthealth.org interim website was built in WordPress and housed on Botsford’s web server. A Beaumont Health interim intranet was also constructed using the content management system Episerver on Beaumont Health System’s server.