This guide includes information relating to all aspects of writing and publishing scholarly research paper, journal articles and more. It was created by the librarians at Dearborn with changes made for our users at Farmington Hills.
IRB Workshop Sessions:
The IRB work sessions are available for researchers to enter a new IRB application or complete any IRB form in the IRB electronic submission system called iMedRIS. There is no formal education or power point. This is a hands-on work session entering your study information into iMedRIS. Anyone is welcome at any of the IRB work sessions. Please contact the IRB office at 248-551-0662 with any questions.
The following dates and times will have someone there to assist you:
Beaumont Dearborn Medical Library, computer lab on Friday, August 30 from 11:00 am to 1:00 pm
Lynne Paul, RN, MSN CIP
Beaumont Health Institutional Review Board (IRB)
Clinical Research Administrative Nurse Manager
248-551-0662 general IRB number
Here is a think to the Beaumont Clinical Research Database. Any Beaumont-affiliated individual can login and use it. Access is by using your Beaumont credentials.
The database contains information from 4th quarter 2016 through the end of 2018.
Click on the "Documentation" tab for the User Manual, training videos and further information about this database.
If you have any questions about the CRDB, you can contact Barb Scott at 248-551-7366 or Barbara.firstname.lastname@example.org. She works in the Beaumont Research Institute located at Royal Oak.
IRB approval is not required before searching the Beaumont Clinical Research Database.
Contact Diane Piskorowski at email@example.com to obtain the institutional codes necessary.
Recent years have seen a tremendous increase in the number of journals dedicated to publishing case reports, although not all of these journals are of high quality. Here are some guidelines, compiled by Katherine Akers at Wayne State University Shiffman Medical Library:
Journal articles on writing and publishing a case report:
Beaumont has an institutional license with the Hindawi Journals which covers the submission fee. You must use your Beaumont email address when submitting your manuscript.
A complete list of the Hindawi Journals -- https://www.hindawi.com/journals/
The Hindawi submission page for authors -- https://mts.hindawi.com/login/. You will need to create an account. You must register with your Beaumont email address in order to be considered for our institutional subscription.
Contact Diane Piskorowski for further information - firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Beaumont-Farmington Hills Medical Library has a number of resources and services to support your scholarly activity (QI posters, preparing an abstract for a conference, submitting a manuscript for publication, etc.):
Contact the Beaumont-Farmington Hills Medical Library at 947-521-8434, email@example.com.
Did you know that the Beaumont Health Research Institute offers assistance with your statistical needs? They provide services for design and analysis of human, animal, and laboratory/bench research studies. They are located at 3911 Thirteen Mile Road in the TSB Trailer on the far west side of the Royal Oak Campus.
They have three biostatisticians with postgraduate degrees to assist you. They will meet with individuals who plan to submit an abstract or journal manuscript. They will discuss study design, research questions and setting up the database. Submit your data at least 3 weeks in advance of your projected deadline to allow for the turnaround time. Please be aware that a project will need IRB approval if it involves data from patients.
Further information can be found at http://www.beaumont.edu/biostatistics
Use one of these citation creator web sites to correctly and easily format your citations: